On Monday 22nd August, in association with Edinburgh International Book Festival, we announced the four winners of the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award 2022:

Titilayo Farukuoye for My Body is Not an Apology
Roshni Gallagher for The Whitby
Alyson Kissner for Nightshade
Michael Mullen for Lay Down With Dogs

I’m delighted to see such a range of new voices featuring in this year’s awards. Each of these young poets is producing work that will impact on Scottish poetry in different and challenging ways.

David Kinloch, Chair of the Edwin Morgan Trust

A huge congratulations to Titilayo, Roshni, Alyson and Michael! They will split the £20,000 prize, which rewards outstanding promise by supporting the development of a collection of poems through financial support. The four runners-up – Nasim Rebecca Asl, Jay Gao, Iona Lee, and Bibi June Schwithal – will each receive £500 to congratulate them on their achievement. We’re so excited to see what the future holds for this fantastic cohort!

Thank you once again to our judging panel – Vahni (Anthony Ezekiel) Capildeo, Maria Fusco, Gillebride MacMillan, Alycia Pirmohamed, Nadine Aisha Jassat, Jeda Pearl Lewis and Kelly Kanayama from the Scottish BPOC Writers Network, and Drew Taylor-Wilson and Fraser MacLeod from Sanctuary Queer Arts – for the time and commitment they dedicated to this year’s award. A special thank you to Maria for hosting our celebratory event at Edinburgh Book Festival, along with Sekai Machache, Esther Swift, Ellen Renton and Niall O’Gallagher, whose performances and readings helped to make the evening so memorable.

%d bloggers like this: