The Edwin Morgan Poetry Award supports emerging writers, with a £20,000 bursary awarded biennially for the best unpublished collection of poems by a Scottish poet aged 30 or under.

The shortlist was announced on 30th June, 2016. With the award presented to the winner by Edinburgh Makar Christine De Luca at the Edinburgh International Book Festival on 18th August 2016. The judges of the award for 2016 were Stewart Conn and Jackie Kay

2016 Winner Penny Boxall

Penny Boxall is the author of two collections: Ship of the Lineand Who Goes There? (Valley Press, 2018). She holds an MA with distinction in Creative Writing (Poetry) from UEA, and has had work featured in The RialtoThe Sunday Times, The North, The Literateur,Magma, Mslexia and Gutter. She has been shortlisted for an Eric Gregory Award. In 2017 she was Writer-in-Residence at Gladstone’s Library and a Hawthornden Fellow, and in 2018 she held a residency at the Chateau de Lavigny, Switzerland.

2016 Runner Up Miriam Nash

Miriam Nash was born in 1985 in Inverness and grew up in Scotland, England and Wales. She was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to study poetry at Sarah Lawrence College in New York, and graduated with an MFA in 2014. Her pamphlet, Small Change (flipped eye), was published in 2013. She received an Eric Gregory from the Society of Authors in 2015. Her first book-length collection, All the Prayers in the House (Bloodaxe Books, 2017) won a Somerset Maugham Award 2018 and was shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry Prize for First Full Collection 2018.

Shortlisted poets for 2016 were:

Sophie Collins, Harry Josephine Giles, Claire Askew and Stewart Sanderson

%d bloggers like this: