The Edwin Morgan Poetry Award supports emerging writers, with a £20,000 bursary awarded biennially for the best unpublished collection of poems by a Scottish poet aged 30 or under.

The shortlist was announced on 28 June, 2018. The winner was announced in an event chaired by Robyn Marsack at the Edinburgh International Book Festival on 22 August 2018. The judges of the award for 2018 were Janice Galloway and John Glenday.

2018 Winner Roseanne Watt

Roseanne is a poet, filmmaker and musician from the Shetland Isles, currently based in Edinburgh. She was the winner of the 2018 Edwin Morgan Poetry Prize, and her first poetry collection, Moder Dy, is forthcoming with Polygon in May 2019. Roseanne recently completed an AHRC-funded PhD at the University of Stirling, as part of the Scottish Graduate School for the Arts and Humanities. 

2018 Runner Up Daisy Lafarge

Daisy Lafarge is a writer and editor based in Edinburgh. In 2017 she received an Eric Gregory Award and her pamphlet, understudies for air, was published by Sad Press. She is a PhD researcher at the University of Glasgow and an editor at MAP, a platform for artist-led publishing and production.

Shortlisted poets for 2018 were:

Tom Docherty, Nadine Aisha Jassat and Peter Ratter

%d bloggers like this: