The 2020 winner of the EMPA is Alycia Pirmohamed, who has recently completed her PhD at the University of Edinburgh, and is co-founder of the Scottish BAME Writers Network.  Her second pamphlet, Hinge (ignition press) is due out next month, and is this season’s Poetry Book Society pamphlet Choice

Her award was announced in an event on the opening day of the EIBF’s online festival programme, with a live recording of Alycia’s astonished and delighted reaction to the news. She has since said:

Winning the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award is such a surreal and amazing experience. I’m so honoured that the judges, Kathleen Jamie and John Glenday, selected my work, and I’m extremely grateful to everyone who has ever read and supported it along the way. It means a lot to have found a poetry community in Scotland, because I tend to spend a lot of time thinking about where and how I fit in. I’m beyond excited to continue my journey as an artist long into the future!  

The runner-up, who receives £2,500, is Colin Bramwell, with his collection ‘Jigsaw’.

The five other shortlisted poets – Michael Grieve, Kirsten Kerr, David Linklater, Paul Malgrati and Stewart Sanderson – each receive £1,000.

The pamphlet for the 2020 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award can be read below:

Pamphlet designed by Maeve Redmond.

%d bloggers like this: