The title of our September Hold Hands Among The Atoms video release is Archive, after Edwin Morgan’s poem, Archives (Collected Poems (Carcanet, 1990) which repeats generation upon. The film features readings and reflections from previous EMPA winners and nominees Harry Josephine Giles, Sophie CollinsNadine Aisha JassatNiall Campbell, and Alycia Pirmohamed. The video has been edited by artist Tako Taal, who has created an intimate portrait of inter-generational creative dialogue. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Harry Josephine Giles’s work was shortlisted for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Prize in 2014 and 2016. Their debut collection, Tonguit tongue-it) was published by Freight in 2015 and shortlisted for the  Forward Foundation’s Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection.

Glasgow-based Sophie Collins was one of the shortlisted poets for the Edwin Morgan Award in 2016. Her debut collection, Who Is Mary Sue?, came out from Faber in 2018, and was a Poetry Book Society Choice, winning the Michael Murphy Memorial Prize in 2019.

Nadine Aisha Jassat was one of the shortlisted poets for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award in 2018. Her collection Let Me Tell You This, described by the Makar Jackie Kay as ‘a punchy and powerful debut’, was published by 404 Ink in 2019.

Niall Campbell was the first winner of the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award with his collection [not pamphlet] Moontide: it was also shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection and won the Saltire Award for best first book.

Alycia Pirmohamed, who lives in Edinburgh, won the 2020 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award. Her new collection, Hinge, published by Ignition Press, is the Poetry Book Society pamphlet collection choice for summer 2020.

%d bloggers like this: