About The Edwin Morgan Poetry Award

The sum of £20,000 will be awarded biennially for the best unpublished collection of poems by a Scottish poet aged 30 or under. The runner-up will receive £2,500 and other shortlisted poets £1,000.

The winner of the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award will be expected to provide some follow-up account of the impact of its funding and publicity on their creative life over the two years between Awards. This will be used on the Edwin Morgan Trust and Scottish Poetry Library websites in advance of the next call for collections.

Eligibility / Application / Dates

The unpublished collection should have a minimum of 25 and a maximum of 50 poems. If individual poems have previously been published in journals/online, this should be noted. 

An unpublished collection submitted unsuccessfully for the Award in a previous year is not eligible for resubmission.

The collection may include poems written in English, Scots or Gaelic. For Gaelic poetry, an English version should be attached.

The Award is open to poets

+ Born in Scotland, or
+ Continuously resident in Scotland for the last three years, or
+ Brought up in Scotland, or
+ Having a Scottish parent.

Poets will be expected to declare under which of these categories they are entering their collection.

Poets should be no older than 30 years of age on the first day of January in the year of the Award, i.e. 1 January 2020 for the 2020 Award. A date of birth will be requested.

Applications for the 2020 award will be open from November 2019 and deadline will be on March 2, 2020.

%d bloggers like this: